Oh the times they are a changin’…

2014-08-29 15.14.13

September 19th will be my last day at my current high school.  Just typing that feels weird.  I never thought there would be a last day with my kids.  In my mind, I was going to be with my amazing students until my husband got his PhD and we moved to pursue whatever job offer he accepted.  Unfortunately, circumstances at my school have pushed me beyond my breaking point, and God has graciously provided a job at another high school.

Amen, H. Jackson Brown!
Amen, H. Jackson Brown!

I think this experience has really shown me that, generally speaking, people don’t do a good enough job of appreciating those around them.  I felt taken for granted by a lot of people, by people who didn’t quite understand the demands of my job, or the realities of being limited by the fact that I am a human.  One, single human. Well, this one, single human pledges to do her very best to not take people in her life for granted.  Students–I love you all!!  Family–you’re the greatest!!  Friends–couldn’t ask for better ones!!  Husby–AMAZING!!  My God–You repeatedly provide for me and sustain me, and I praise You for that!!  Readers, go thank someone right now.  Get up. Walk away from your all-consuming technological device, and tell someone you love them, care for them, and appreciate them. *steps off podium*

2014-08-29 15.14.02

Anyway, my students have been showering me with hilarious comments in response to my decision to leave, and I thought I would share those with you, dear reader.  So, enjoy. 🙂

“Mrs. Johnson, we need a lock of your hair so we can tape it to the wall. Then, when the new person tries to touch it, we can yell at them for trying to touch the sacred hair of Johnson.”

“You’re leaving us? Well, I think I need to unbutton another button in your honor.”

“Mrs. Johnson, I am going to drop out of school and go OD on a corner!”

“You can’t leave us. Who else can do what you do?  I don’t think anyone else can.”

“I am going to get a tattoo on my entire back of your face.”

steve-o-01

Hahaha… seriously y’all, I am going to miss my kids like crazy. They are the best!  I have written a letter to them that I will pass out on my last day.  I’ve posted it below.  Happy Friday, and go hug someone you appreciate!

My darling students,

Shakespeare once wrote, “Parting is such sweet sorrow”, which is exactly how I feel about parting from you all. My departure is definitely bittersweet. On the one hand, I am doing what I need to do for my family. On the other hand, I am leaving behind such a special group of students.

So, how do you deal with that? How do you deal with doing what is right for one family but so wrong for the other family? Honestly, I think this letter is my way of coping. It is also my way of leaving some last words with you all, my kiddos. I truly see you all as my kids. You are a part of who I am. I love you all so much. You each possess wonderful, unique, and incredible qualities that make you so amazing. You all have genuinely been the BEST part of my time here at LMHS, and for that, I thank you. “Thank you!” <–See, I thanked you! 🙂

Promise me that you will always try your best, even when you feel like the world has beaten you down. Promise me that you will continue to encourage one another, even when you are beyond annoyed with each other. Promise me that you will continue to see the best in yourself, even when others are raining negativity upon you. Promise me you will treat the new teacher well, since he will be the next person to look out for you. And finally, promise me you will always see yourself as I do—wonderful, resilient, hilarious, smart, and so worthy of love and a good life.

Much love,

Mrs. J

Leave a Reply

