“Be as your fancies teach you…”

Some character in the play Othello said, “Be as your fancies teach you…”, which I think is pretty sound advice.  My fancies have taught me many things.  They have taught me to be sarcastic in moderation; exhibit kindness even when people think it is a sign of weakness; fight for the underdog; fiercely protect those I love; and, stick with it when the going gets tough.

I expect year seven of teaching will be a tough one. According to psychologists, “the seven-year itch” refers to a declined interest/happiness in your marriage during year seven.  Why year seven? I do not know.  Psychologists did not feel the need to explain themselves as to why they selected year seven as the itchy one.  Anyway, since my job feels like a marriage in many ways, I am wondering if I will experience this seven-year itch phenomenon.

No, not the movie, although I'd love to look as fabulous as Marilyn!
No, not the movie, although I’d love to look as fabulous as Marilyn!

 

Towards the end of every school year I question my choice of profession. Actually, that is a lie.  Every November and May I question my choice of profession.  Obviously, I fight past said questioning, otherwise I would not be going into my seventh year of teaching. Throughout the course of this year, I plan on writing about the following: funny things my students say, frustrations I experience, and my overall fight against the seven-year itch.

I hope you’ll join me down this path of madness and itchiness. School resumes August 11th, my friends. Until then… 🙂

Leave a Reply

